Administrative unit

South Wales RegC

Poor Law/Registration County

Available Themes

Work & Poverty

Work & Poverty

Unemployment rates and poor relief. What proportions of men and of women did paid work?

Preferred Name:
Unit Type:
Poor Law/Registration County
Date created:
Date abolished:
Unit ID:
Poor Law Board, Annual Report (HMSO)

Statistical only

This unit has been constructed for statistical reporting purposes only. It has no legal existence.


Prior to 1905, the Annual Reports of the Poor Law Board and later the Local Government Board did not provide data for the individual Welsh counties, other than Monmouthshire, listing instead data for "North Wales" and "South Wales". South Wales comprised Brecknockshire, Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Glamorgan, Pembrokeshire and Radnorshire.

Alternative names

We know of no alternate names.

Unit associations

We know of no associations with other units.

Unit history

This unit was part of the following units:

Name Type Start End Authority
WALES Poor Law/Registration Division     Poor Law Board, Annual Report (HMSO)

Boundary changes

We know of no boundary changes affecting this unit.

Lower level units

We know of no units which were contained within this unit.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, South Wales RegC through time | Census tables with data for the Poor Law/Registration County, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 24th June 2024