Type details for Archdeaconry

Number of units in system: 122
Geographical Level: 8 (Higher-level District)
ADL Feature Type:countries, 3rd order divisions
May be part of: Diocese
May have as parts: Rural Deanery

Full Description:

From the twelfth and thirteenth centuries dioceses were divided into archdeaconries, geographical areas with special administrative and judicial roles under the direction of an archdeacon. They were in turn divided into rural deaneries.