Status details for Cinque Port

Status:Cinque Port
Number of units in system:
Geographical Level: 9 (Middle-level District)
ADL Feature Type:countries, 3rd order divisions
Is a status within:Ancient District

Full Description:

From the medieval era the Cinque ports "have had a special and privileged place in the shipping and naval activities of England, and an identity distinct from the counties in which they were located" (Youngs P.xii). Originally these ports were: Hastings, Romney, Hythe, Dover and Sandwich and later the two ancient towns of Winchelsea and Rye. These ports usually had dependant member towns or ports.