Euston  Suffolk


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Euston like this:

EUSTON, a parish in the district of Thetford and county of Suffolk; at the verge of the county, on the L. Ouse river, 4½ miles SE by S of Thetford r. station. It includes the hamlet of Little Fakenham, and has a post office under Thetford. Acres, with Rymer, 3, 780. Real property, £2, 815. ...

Pop., 225. Houses, 43. The property is all in one estate. The manor belonged to the Eustons; passed to the Pattishalls and to Benet, Earl of Arlington; went, by marriage, to the first Duke of Grafton; and gives to the Dukes of Grafton the title of Earl. Euston Hall is a seat of the Duke of Grafton; is constructed of red brick; and stands amid charming scenery. A banqueting-house, called the Temple, crowns an eminence in the park; was erected by Kent; and is in the Grecian style. The living is a rectory, united with the rectories of Barnham and Little Fakenham, in the diocese of Ely. Value, £645.* Patron, the Duke of Grafton. The church has a square tower; contains monuments of the Grafton family, and four brasses; and is good.

Euston through time

Euston is now part of St Edmundsbury district. Click here for graphs and data of how St Edmundsbury has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Euston itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Euston, in St Edmundsbury and Suffolk | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 27th November 2021

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time , and maybe some references to other places called " Euston ".