Derwent  Derbyshire


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Derwent like this:

DERWENT (The), a river of Derbyshire. It rises near Barrow-Stones in the High Peak, at the northern extremity of the county; runs 38 miles southward and south-south-eastward, past Hathersage, Chatsworth, Matlock, Cromford, and Belper, to Derby; then goes 8 miles east-south-eastward, to the Trent, near Wilne, at the boundary with Leicestershire. It traverses romantic scenery to Cromford; and flows through fine lowland landscape from Belper to the Trent.

Derwent through time

Derwent is now part of High Peak district. Click here for graphs and data of how High Peak has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Derwent itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Derwent, in High Peak and Derbyshire | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 23rd April 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Derwent".