Cowall  Argyll


In 1882-4, Frances Groome's Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland described Cowall like this:

Cowal, the mid eastern district of Argyllshire. Its north-western extremity is an isthmus between the head of Loch Fyne and the boundary with Perthshire; whilst its north-eastern is a range of mountains along the boundary with Perth and Dumbarton shires, to the head of Loch Long; and all the rest is a peninsula bounded E by Loch Long and the Firth of Clyde, S by the Kyles of Bute, and W by Loch Fyne. ...

Its length, from the head of Glen Fyne on the NNE to Lamont Point on the SSW, is 37 miles; and its greatest breadth is 16¼ miles. It comprehends the parishes of Lochgoilhead and Kilmorich, Dunoon and Kilmun, Strachur and Stralachlan, Inverchaolain, Kilmodan, and Kilfinan, and the quoad sacra parishes of Ardentinny, Inellan, Kirn, and Sandbank, with the chapelries of Strone, Toward, Kilbride, and Tighnabruaich. See argyllshire.

Cowall through time

Cowall is now part of Argyll and Bute district. Click here for graphs and data of how Argyll and Bute has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Cowall itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Cowall in Argyll and Bute | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 20th April 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Cowall".