Gilsland  Cumberland


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Gilsland like this:

GILSLAND, a village and a chapelry in Lanercost parish, Cumberland. The village stands on the river Irthing, at the boundary with Northumberland, near the Roman wall, ¾ of a mile N of Rosehill r. station, and 8 NE of Brampton. It probably took its name from brooks or "gills" in its neighbourhood; it is surronnded by picturesque scenery; it has a sulphur spring, in much repute for medicinal virtues; it also commands a chalybeate spring on the Northumberland side of the Irthing; it has acquired much favour, by its springs, its climate, and its scenery, as a resort of invalids; it includes a large hotel or boarding-house, for their accommodation, situated on a sloping bank, with pleasant southern exposure; and it has a post office under Carlisle. ...

A fine waterfall, interesting vestiges of the Roman wall, various places of note in border history, and some scenes in Sir Walter Scott's "Guy Mannering, " particularly those relating to Meg Merrilees, are in the vicinity. Sir Walter Scott, during a visit to Gilsland, met and became attached to the lady who became his wife. The chapelry was constituted in 1855; and is a vicarage, annexed to Upper Denton. Pop., 224. The church is good.

Gilsland through time

Gilsland is now part of Tynedale district. Click here for graphs and data of how Tynedale has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Gilsland itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Gilsland, in Tynedale and Cumberland | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 15th April 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Gilsland".