Lorne  Argyll


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Lorne like this:

Lorne, dist., Argyllshire; is bounded N. by Loch Leven, S. by Lochs Awe, Avich, and Melfort, and W. by the Firth of Lorne and Loch Linnhe; is divided into Upper Lorne (lying N. of Loch Etive), Middle Lorne, and Nether Lorne; gives the titles of baron and marquis to the Duke of Argyll.

Lorne through time

Lorne is now part of Highland district. Click here for graphs and data of how Highland has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Lorne itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Lorne, in Highland and Argyll | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 25th April 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Lorne".