Kelvin  Scotland


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Kelvin like this:

Kelvin, river, Stirlingshire, Dumbartonshire, and Lanarkshire; rises 3 miles E. of Kilsyth, and flows 21 miles SW. to the Clyde at Partick, in W. of Glasgow; at Garscube, 4 miles NW. of Glasgow, it enters Kelvingrove, a picturesque wooded dell. See also GLASGOW.

Kelvin through time

Kelvin is now part of East Dunbartonshire district. Click here for graphs and data of how East Dunbartonshire has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Kelvin itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Kelvin, in East Dunbartonshire and Scotland | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 25th April 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Kelvin".