Warwickshire  England

Search for places within Warwickshire:


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Warwickshire like this:

Warwickshire, co. in west-midlands of England; bounded N. by Staffordshire, Derbyshire, and Leicestershire, E. by Northamptonshire, S. by Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire, and W. by Worcestershire; greatest length, N. and S., 52 miles; greatest breadth, E. and W., 32 miles; area, 566,271 ac., pop. ...

737,339. Warwickshire presents a pleasant undulating surface of hill and dale, watered by the Avon, Learn, and Tame. The climate is mild and healthy, and the soil, except some cold stiff clays on the higher grounds, is fertile. It consists chiefly of a strong red loam adapted for wheat and beans, or a sandy loam for barley and turnips. Much land is kept in permanent pasture for grazing. (For agricultural statistics, see Appendix.) Formerly the co. was thickly wooded (that part N. of the Avon being called the Forest of Arden), and fine timber is still abundant. Geologically it mainly belongs to the secondary formation. A coal field, 16 miles by 3 miles, extends from the neighbourhood of Coventry to the border of Staffordshire, E. of Tamworth. The principal minerals are coal, ironstone, limestone, freestone, blue flagstone, and fire-clay. The mfrs. are carried on chiefly at Birmingham (hardware and silk goods) and Coventry (watches and ribbons). There are mineral springs at Leamington, Stratford on Avon, Umington, Southam, Willoughby, King's Newnham, &c. The co. is traversed in all directions by canals and railways. Warwickshire comprises 4 hundreds, 256 pars, with parts of 7 others, the parl. and mun. bors. of Birmingham (7 members) and Coventry (1 member), the parl. bors. of Aston Manor (1 member) and Warwick and Leamington (1 member), and the mun. bors. of Leamington, Stratford on Avon, and Warwick. It is mostly in the diocese of Worcester. For parl. purposes it is divided into 4 divisions - Northern or Tamworth, North-Eastern or Nuneaton, South-Western or Stratford on Avon, and South-Eastern or Rugby, 1 member for each division.

Warwickshire through time

Warwickshire is now part of Warwickshire county. Click here for graphs and data of how Warwickshire has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Warwickshire itself, go to Units and Statistics.

Warwickshire -- but you should check this covers the area you are interested in.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Warwickshire | Map and description for the county, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 23rd May 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Warwickshire".