Warton  Lancashire


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Warton like this:

WARTON, a township, a parish, and a sub-district, in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The township lies near Morecambe bay, the Kendal canal, and Carnforth r. station, 6½ miles N by E of Lancaster; and includes Lindeth hamlet. Acres, 2,924. Real property, £3,754. Pop., 581. Houses, 131.—The parish contains also Carnforth township, which has a post-office under Lancaster; contains likewise 5 other townships; and comprises 11,141 acres. ...

Pop., 2,161. Houses, 443. The property is much subdivided. Hyning Hall, Hazlemount, Linden Hall, Prospect House, Leighton Hall, and Morecambe Lodge are chief residences. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300.* Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of Worcester. The church was repaired in 1850, and has seven memorial windows. The p. curacies of Silverdale and Yealand-Conyers are separate benefices. Two school-houses, at Carnforth and Priest-Hutton, are used as chapels of ease There are chapels for Quakers and Roman Catholics.—The sub-district includes also three townships of Bolton-le-Sands, and comprises 17,932 acres. Pop., 3,562. Houses, 732.

Warton through time

Warton is now part of Lancaster district. Click here for graphs and data of how Lancaster has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Warton itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Warton, in Lancaster and Lancashire | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 24th July 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Warton".