Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for Wales

Wales.-- principality in the SW. of the island of Great Britain, bounded N. by the Irish Sea, E. by Cheshire, Shropshire, Herefordshire, and Monmouthshire, S. by the Bristol Channel, and W. by St George's Channel; greatest length, 135 miles; greatest breadth, 95 miles; 4,712,281 ac., pop. 1,360,513. It is divided into North Wales and South Wales, each containing 6 counties - Anglesey, Carnarvonshire, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Merioneth, and Montgomeryshire being in North Wales; and Brecknockshire, Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Glamorgan, Pembrokeshire, and Radnorshire in South Wales. It is very mountainous, particularly in the north, where Snowdon, the highest point of South Britain, rises to an alt. of 3571 ft. The most fertile tracts are the vales of Clwyd and Glamorgan. (For agricultural statistics, see Appendix.) The minerals are very valuable, and the south contains some of the largest coal and iron works in the kingdom.

(John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887))

Linked entities:
Feature Description: "principality"   (ADL Feature Type: "countries, 1st order divisions")
Administrative units: Wales RegDiv       Wales Dep
Place: Wales

Go to the linked place page for a location map, and for access to other historical writing about the place. Pages for linked administrative units may contain historical statistics and information on boundaries.