Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for Perth, District of

Perth, District of, is one of the districts into which Perthshire was divided by Act of Parliament in 1795 for the statutory jurisdiction of justices of peace in small debts. It includes the parishes of Aberdalgie, Abernethy, Arngask, Dunbarney, Dron, Forgandenny, Forteliot, Findo-Gask, Kinnoull (excluding the lands of Inchyra and Balthayock), Methven (excluding the lands of Tullybeagles), Moneydie, Perth, Redgorton, Rhynd, Scone (excluding the lands of Kinnochtry), Tibbermuir, the lands of Clevage and Inverdunning in Dunning, the lands of Logiealmond in Monzie, and the lands of Friarton in St Martins. Perth district, one of two into which the sheriffdom of Perthshire is divided, comprehends all the above parishes (Aberdalgie to Tibbermuir), besides those of Abernyte, Alyth, Auchterarder, Auchtergalen, Bendochy, Blackford, Blair Athole, Blairgowrie, Caputh, Cargill, Cluny, Collace, Comrie, Crieff, Coupar-Angus, Dull, Dunkeld, Dunning, Errol, Fortingall, Fowlis-Easter, Fowlis-Wester, Glendevon, Inchture, part of Kenmore, Kilspindie, Kinclaven, Kinfauns, Kinloch, Kinnaird, Kirkmichael, Lethendy, Little Dunkeld, Logierait, Longforgan, Madderty, Meigle, Moneydie, Monzie, Monzievaird, Moulin, Muthill, Rattray, St Madoes, St Martins, Trinity-Gask, and part of Weem.

(F.H. Groome, Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland (1882-4); © 2004 Gazetteer for Scotland)

Linked entities:
Feature Description: "one of the districts into which Perthshire was divided by Act of Parliament"   (ADL Feature Type: "countries, 3rd order divisions")
Administrative units: Perthshire ScoCnty
Place: Perth

Go to the linked place page for a location map, and for access to other historical writing about the place. Pages for linked administrative units may contain historical statistics and information on boundaries.